Sign in

Deleting a bill or document

For audit and security purposes, once a bill is entered into Bill.com, the system will store it indefinitely. If this document is no longer needed in Bill.com, it can be deactivated. 

Deactivate a bill

  1. Locate the bill
    • Find specific bills by clicking Payables > Bills, and locating it from the list, or by navigating to the vendor's page (search for the vendor, or click Payables > Vendors), and scrolling down to the Bills section
  2. If there are pending payments for this bill, either cancel or void the payment (depending on the stage of processing the payment is in)
  3. Click on the bill's invoice number
  4. Click Delete/Deactivate (trash can icon) located in the summary box

Deactivate a document

  1. Click "Documents"
  2. Click the name of the document to deactivate
  3. Click Delete/Deactivate (trash can icon)

Things to know

  • To deactivate a bill or document, the user must have manage bill/document permissions. Standard roles that have this permission are Administrator, Accountant, and Clerk
  • A paid bill cannot be deactivated
  • A deactivated bill can be reactivated by choosing "Show inactive bills" and clicking on the trash can icon
  • A deactivated document can be found in the inbox history

 Resources

Have more questions? Submit a request