Sign in

Xero Sync - Setup Guide

This Xero setup guide provides step-by-step instructions on setting up the sync between Bill.com and Xero.


Sync Overview

The following image shows what objects sync and in which direction.
Xero_sync_image.png

Pre setup requirements

Tracking categories

  • If using Locations and Departments they must be named Location and Department within Xero to ensure proper sync. 

Connect the sync

  1. Hover over the sync icon, click Setup Xero                                                                                                                                                       Sync_icon.png
  2. Click Connect to Xero                                                                                                                   Xero_setup.png
  3. Enter Xero login credentials                                                                                                
  4. Select the Xero company to sync with, click Allow access                                                                  Allow_access.png

The sync in now connected.

Sync_complete.png 

 

Sync Preferences

After the first sync complete, fill out sync preferences. Some fields will be pre-filled, review to ensure the corrects accounts have been selected.

  1. Hover over the gear icon, click Settings
  2. Under Sync, click Preferences
  3. Click Edit 
  4. Select the Xero accounts to use (we filled the list with your Xero Chart of Accounts during the first sync) for the following settings (if applicable): Sync_Preferences.png
    • Sync Automatically
      • This ensures the sync is run at least once daily. The sync will run approximately 24 hours from the last sync time. However, the sync can always be run manually via the Sync Now button at any time.
    • Sync Only Approved Bills and Vendor Credits
      • Note: This setting is not reversible. Once turned on it can not be turned off.
      • This allows only those bills that have been fully Approved in Bill.com to sync to the accounting software.
    • Unallocated Expense Account
      • This is where bills with no GL accounts specified in Bill.com will post to during the sync.
    • Default Bank Account in Accounting Software
      • This is the default bank account used to record any payments made outside of Bill.com.
      • The ending balance of this account will be displayed in the Bill.com Cash Forecast, to help manage cash flow.
    • Deposit To Account
      • Ex: Undeposited Funds is frequently used to record check payments received, but not yet deposited.
      • This is the default account to record payments received outside of Bill.com.
    • GL Account For Bank Account **XXXX
      • This is where funds transfers for payments for payments made/received through the specified bank account will post
    • Master In Case of Conflict
      • If a record is updated with different values in Bill.com and the accounting software before the next sync, only the values for the record set as master will be kept.
  5. Click Save

Note: The progress indicator will be displayed during the sync between Xero and Bill.com

Accounting Preferences

To set up accounting preferences for reporting and tracking:

  1. Hover over the gear icon, click Settings
  2. Under Accounting, click Preferences
  3. Click Edit
  4. Set preferences
  5. Click Save
  6. Hover over the sync icon , and click Sync Now to run another sync

The sync setup is now complete.

RESOURCES

Below are additional resources: 

Have more questions? Submit a request